Logo EKiR
The regional church office (Landeskirchenamt) in Düsseldorf.

The regional church office (Landeskirchenamt) in Düsseldorf.

Regional Church Office

Divided into five departments

The various areas of work carried out by the regional church office (Landeskirchenamt) are divided into five departments:  theology and ecumenism, human resources, education and training, law and politics, finance and diaconal services.

The church executive board of the Evangelical Church in the Rhineland carries out its task with the help of the regional church office. Operational functions are dealt with independently by the church office, which is answerable to the executive board for the proper completion of those tasks. 

The allocation of responsibilities is set out in the regulations for the regional church office. In particular, issues of fundamental significance, and submissions made to the church executive board are dealt with by the office executive group (Kollegium). This consists of the president, the five full-time staff members on the executive board, along with the deputy department heads. The five departments of the church office are each subdivided into sections.

The current departmental structure in the church office as from 1 August 2016 can be seen in the organisational chart, which provides an overview of the five departments and their sub-sections, with their main functions. The plan of the division of responsibilities gives detailed information about where particular competences lie within the church office.

*OKR = Oberkirchenrat/-rätin – senior executive minister

ekir.de / 08.12.2016