“I’m full of joy, redeemed, set free” is the slogan being used by the Evangelical Church in the Rhineland for the 500th Anniversary of the Reformation in 2017. It is taken from the opening lines of a psalm-poem by the Rhineland cabaret artist and writer Hanns Dieter Hüsch (1925-2005).

> more information


The regional church office (Landeskirchenamt) in Düsseldorf. The regional church office (Landeskirchenamt) in Düsseldorf.

Regional Church Office

Divided into five departments

The various areas of work carried out by the regional church office (Landeskirchenamt) are divided into five departments:  theology and ecumenism, human resources, education and training, law and politics, finance and diaconal services.

The church executive board of the Evangelical Church in the Rhineland carries out its task with the help of the regional church office. Operational functions are dealt with independently by the church office, which is answerable to the executive board for the proper completion of those tasks. 

The allocation of responsibilities is set out in the regulations for the regional church office. In particular, issues of fundamental significance, and submissions made to the church executive board are dealt with by the office executive group (Kollegium). This consists of the president, the five full-time staff members on the executive board, along with the deputy department heads. The five departments of the church office are each subdivided into sections.

The current departmental structure in the church office as from 1 August 2016 can be seen in the organisational chart, which provides an overview of the five departments and their sub-sections, with their main functions. The plan of the division of responsibilities gives detailed information about where particular competences lie within the church office.

  • Head of department 1, theology and ecumenism, is OKR* Barbara Rudolph.
  • Head of department 2, human resources, is theological vice president Christoph Pistorius.
  • Head of department 3, education and training, is OKR Klaus Eberl
  • Head of department 4, law and politics, is judicial vice president Dr. Johann Weusmann
  • Head of department 5, finance and diaconal services is OKR Bernd Baucks.

*OKR = Oberkirchenrat/-rätin – senior executive minister

connect to Facebook, Twitter and Google+
print page forward page


ekir.de / 08.12.2016

© 2018, en.ekir.de
All rights reserved. Reproduction only with permission.